brile.diaryland.com

a mother's love knows no bounds........

older
new
e-mail
about
book
host
design
salem's story
reads
rings
pregnancy

prev next




Febrile Seizure

2005-01-11 9:54 p.m.

Well I had a terrifying day. Salem had a febrile seizure. It was terrifying. About an hour after we got home from the cardiologist I walked into the living room and she was laying on the floor. I picked her up and she was burning up. She hadn't been running a fever before. So I took her to the couch and she started whimpering so I was talking to her and loving on her. Then Brian came in. Normally when he comes home she jumps to see him even if she is tired or does't feel good. I couldn't get her to even look at him. Then she let go of me and went limp. We picked her up and she almost fell out of our arms cause she wouldn't hold on. She started drooling and her muscles were twitching and her eyes rolled back into the back of her head. Totally unresponsive and limp.

It was literally terrifying! We sped the ped's office (I had called him). We were going to the hospital but he is right across the street from there and he told us to come there first. We got there and 20 minutes later she started to come out of it. He explained what a febrile seizure was (usually brought on by a sudden high fever) and harmless. No damage. So thank God. But we are alternating ibu and tylenol and if she does have another one he will admit her and watch her to make sure things are ok!

I guess I knew what a febrile seizure was but I sure didn't remember when it was happening. It was literally the most terrifying experience of my life as her mom!

I am just so very thankful she is ok.

October 11, 2006 - 2006-10-11
Back from Vacation - 2006-07-18
July 3, 2006 - 2006-07-04
Parenting is Hard - 2006-06-30
Update June 23, 2006 - 2006-06-23


(c)brile2001-2004