brile.diaryland.com

a mother's love knows no bounds........

older
new
e-mail
about
book
host
design
salem's story
reads
rings
pregnancy

prev next




Diabetes - Metabolic Syndrome

2004-02-11 11:04 p.m.

Well I had my yearly a week ago. I told the Dr. that I was dieting and he suggested I get a full bloodwork and check everything especially my cholesterol and thyroid.

Well I got a letter late last week that said he wanted me to call him this week. He thinks I may have diabetes. Here were my readings:

1. Chemistries - Abnormal - Glucose (231 High) - Liver Enzymes Elevated

2. Lipid Profile - Abnormal - Cholestrol of 222, Triglycerides 436, HDL of 48 and LDL of 165.

3. Bloodcount - Abnormal - Hematocrit - 35% (significant for mild anemia I knew that though)

4. Urinalysis - Abnormal - high sugar

Sigh! I tested negative for gestational diabetes during pregnancy.

So today I went in for a followup to discuss what to do. He said I do have Type II Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome. He said it had been almost 3 hours since I ate (ate at 12:30), my appt was at 2:30 and my bloodwork was drawn at 4:15. He laughingly said I would have had to eaten a cake for the bloodwork to be that high!

I have to do a 24 hour urine starting tomorrow am and when I take that back Friday I have to have the bloodwork and fasting glucose and all. He also gave me an RX for glucophage and a monitor and he wants me to test my sugar 3 times a day. They are setting me up appts to see a podiatrist, nutritionist and opthamologist. Then I go back to him in 2 weeks.

He said with my liver enzymes being out of wack that he can't put me on a cholestrol medication. He said it has to be by diet. He suggested I consider have a gastric bypass to help me lose weight (I am about 80 pounds overweight so it's borderline for a gastric but possible with my comorbidity issues). I am going to go to a seminar on that next week. I am pretty undecided about that but we'll see. His receptionist had one last summer by lap and it's gone really well - with no complications. Blech! But I think I may want to diet and exercise first. I am just not sure.

Well as always I have 2 other updates today! Sometimes it's easy for me to do this! And guess what? I have 12 more days of work! Whoo Hoo!!!

October 11, 2006 - 2006-10-11
Back from Vacation - 2006-07-18
July 3, 2006 - 2006-07-04
Parenting is Hard - 2006-06-30
Update June 23, 2006 - 2006-06-23


(c)brile2001-2004