brile.diaryland.com

a mother's love knows no bounds........

older
new
e-mail
about
book
host
design
salem's story
reads
rings
pregnancy

prev next




Embryo Adoption

2002-02-01 11:58 p.m.

10 Embies. More specifically - 10 babies. We have created 10 babies. It's a little overwhelming to think of it in those terms. 10 babies. I am already thinking of them as my children. I know that sounds weird but I have very DEFINITIVE ideas about life. I wholeheartedly believe life begins at conception. So I will NEVER destroy them or leave them frozen forever. Now I probably won't transfer 10 embryos either but we have pretty much decided after we have 2-3 children we will choose a Christian couple to donate the embryos to thruogh Snowflakes.org.

This was not an easy decision to make. But in our hearts we know it's the right one. Even some of our Christian friends look at us weirdly but we felt we needed to decide beforehand what we would.

To me destroying them is killing a life. Leaving them frozen for ever seems just wrong and embryo testing is something I am not comfortable with. Especially since they are my babies - not faceless, identity-less embryos cryopreserved in some unit far far away. These are my babies.

So we are choosing to give them a potential life to someone who can carry a baby but not create one, even though their life will not be with us. And I am not kidding when I say that decision was HARD to make. But it's the right one.

Tomorrow am - Sat the 2nd at 11 am we will transfer 2 or 3 embryos. I will be on bed rest for 3 days. For those who read my diary I will not update til Monday! Thank you all for your prayers and encouraging words.

October 11, 2006 - 2006-10-11
Back from Vacation - 2006-07-18
July 3, 2006 - 2006-07-04
Parenting is Hard - 2006-06-30
Update June 23, 2006 - 2006-06-23


(c)brile2001-2004