brile.diaryland.com

a mother's love knows no bounds........

older
new
e-mail
about
book
host
design
salem's story
reads
rings
pregnancy

prev next




Salem's Cardiology Appt 1/7

2003-01-07 8:28 p.m.

Well her hurt muscle is still thickening. The Dr. is 90% sure it's hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Basically it's a condition in which the muscle of the heart is abnormal in the absence of an apparent cause. The main feature of Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy is an excessive thickening of the heart muscle (hypertrophy literally means to thicken).

If you want to know more about this check out this link.

He gave us a prescription for a beta blocker called propranolol. He is starting her on a small dose and will up the dose after our next echocardiogram and EKG which is in 2 weeks.

He also wants her to see a geneticist to rule out Turner's Syndrome. At first he said Noonan's Syndrome but I have since found out that that is a similar syndrome but in boys. Turner's is in girls.

So that's the update. The excellent news is she is over 10 pounds. Whoo Hoo! 10.2 to be exact!!!

And even more good news is I'm going part-time! My boss told me it was approved. We are going to work out the details tomorrow. Now when Brian gets a great job we will be set for me to quit. Right now I am in between a rock and a hardplace as I need to work at least part-time to keep my benefits and I definitely need them right now with Salem's heart problems.I am SO excited.

October 11, 2006 - 2006-10-11
Back from Vacation - 2006-07-18
July 3, 2006 - 2006-07-04
Parenting is Hard - 2006-06-30
Update June 23, 2006 - 2006-06-23


(c)brile2001-2004